• Fourth Amendment Of The United States Constitution

    "The right of the people to be secure in their persons, houses, papers, and effects, against unreasonable searches and seizures, shall not be violated, and no Warrants shall issue, but upon probable cause, supported by Oath or affirmation, and particularly describing the place to be searched, and the persons or things to be seized." The recent capitualtion of the United States House of Representaives to the Bush Administrations demands for TELECOM IMMUNITY in anticipation of the United States Senate following suit shall not stand. Congress is empowered to pass laws. If they pass a bad law it needs to be repealed. This is bad law and this site seeks to have this law repealed. Please Read Carte blanche to illegally spy on Americans by Tom Burghardt
  • Blog Stats

    • 47,491 hits

Does DailyKOS represent the “Netroots” on FISA?

It’s no secret that bloggers are becoming more influential. It’s also no secret that networks and newspapers are cutting back, closing their foreign desks, tightening their belts. The mainstream media even has an acronym now, MSM. The MSM is starting to cover the blogosphere as a legitimate news item.

Last night on NPR “The Netroots” was discussed in relation to whether the bloggers are going to be able to influence the Democratic candidate and pull him back from his recent policy changes that were described as “centrist”. I think we’re going to see more of this type of coverage as the date for the Dailykos’ “Netroots Nation” convention gets closer.

If this is a “nation”, I want to secede. I don’t think FISA is “centrist”. I think it’s reactionary and dangerous.

Dailykos doesn’t think so. They started supporting FISA when Obama did. I don’t personally follow Dailykos on a regular basis, I find it too tedious to sift through all the self-important fluff. But this gives some insight to what they are doing over there, also this is a sample of the arguments they use. For what it’s worth, the NPR piece considered Huffington Post to typify the blogosphere, but it’s Kos that will be in the headlines this weekend.

Another blogger here has questioned the partiality of the convention, pointing out several workshops on immigration, telecoms, military contractors and lobbyists. I don’t know what will be presented at these sessions, but I don’t see any specific session on FISA. I also see

DNC & Obama for America: The Plan – A Ground Game for 2008

DNC & Obama for America: The Tools – Online Tools for Social Networking

DNC & Obama for America: The Votes – Registering to Win

DNC & Obama for America: The Message – Talking to Your Neighbors

Organizing for Change: An Inside Look at Obama For America’s Grassroots Strategy

The Obama Moment: Bringing Networked Knowledge Into Obama’s Washington

There is absolutely no doubt in my mind that this will be an Obama love-fest and that the message to bloggers will be “fall in line”.

Kos and his “netroots nation” does not represent me. It does not represent the 24,122 members who signed the petition on Obama’s own website to “please lead other Democrats to get FISA right”. I am not going to shill for Obama. The Cthulhu for President campaign–“why vote for the lesser of two evils”–is looking better and better.

But it looks like the mainstream media is going to be using the Netroots Nation as publicity for the new Obama “centrist” agenda. The Netroots is being coopted by the establishment. This isn’t grassroots anymore, it’s Animal Farm and the Bolshevik revolution all over again. “Change you can believe in” has morphed into “Meet the new boss, same as the old boss”.

So what are we gonna do about it?

6 Responses

  1. You continue to labor under the misapprehension that Netroots Nation represents Daily Kos alone, when in fact it represents a wide swath of the blog world. You also continue to mistakenly believe that a five day convention does not have room to represent/discuss an array of issues. There won’t be a monolithic “message to bloggers”.

    I would also not be so fast to claim that the members of the myBO group are some how anti-Daily Kos; I am a member of that group and am broadly agnostic towards Kos itself with a marked preference for larger blogospheric organizing events (such as Netroots Nation). Given that it is a group of over 24,000 people who remain avowed Obama supporters, I suspect that I am not the only one in that group with this opinion or something close to it.

    I am not asking anyone to shill for anyone. But I am asking, quite seriously, why the attacks on an event that is at best tangential to Congressional spinelessness on FISA and actually represents a networking opportunity, given that a number of pro-civil liberties legal organizations have sponsored the event and will be there as exhibitors.

    Regardless, I request that the admin for this blog remove me from the list of writers. I am not interested in continuing to get drawn into these debates.

  2. I find it interesting that You have a problem with ‘Kos’ and not the the issue at hand. I find it much more interesting that You cut and run from this site. Your ‘interest’ and attention span reminds Me of when My daughter was 12.

  3. Alex brings up a whole lot of new issues, but then doesn’t want to discuss them? Whatever.

    I can sympathize with wanting to support Obama. He is my senator and was my rep before that, so I have probably voted for him more times than anyone else here. I am not ready to support him or any other candidate right now, with the possible exception of Pat Paulson, but I don’t expect everyone else on this blog to agree with me. For me it is enough that everyone here is blogging against the FISA amendment in some way.

    I’m just a blogger with a day job, but I know I can accomplish more with others that I can with just my own blog. That is why I signed up here, even though it takes time away from my blog and my life. The Bill of Rights IS important to me, and what Obama and the rest of congress did with the FISA Amendments Act absolutely infuriates me. Even if I’m not a big fancy blog like Dailykos, I will do what I can to defend the constitution, which is more than Kos can say.

    Yes, Netroots Nation is still Dailykos. For anyone who wants to read more, here are some links I have culled:
    http://camelsnose.wordpress.com/2008/07/16/who-is-netroots-nation/
    Anyone can pay the $450 registration fee and show up, and many politicians do. The organizer has said that even McCain is welcome to attend–he has a Dailykos button on his website. The organizations that show up at the convention pay $5000 and up for the privilege.

    The convention is still an insider Democratic event and all the session presenters and keynote speakers–like Howard Dean and Nancy Pelosi–are vetted by the Kossacks. Watch the coverage…for anyone who wants to make a small side wager, I bet impeachment will be off the table and I bet FISA will be off the table.

  4. […] FISA wager I wish I had lost Posted on July 19, 2008 by Nijma A few days ago I offered to make a side wager about the Netroots Nation Convention.  Some say the convention, which was started by DailyKos and […]

Leave a Reply

